SA names squad for Olympic Games


SA squad for Olympic GamesJOHANNESBURG, (CAJ News) – SOUTH Africa Under 23 coach Owen da Gama, has named his squad to represent the country at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games scheduled to start in Brazil next month.

Da Gama has roped two overage players in Kaizer Chiefs and Bafana Bafana duo of goalkeeper, Itumeleng Khune, and defender, Eric Mathoho,.

“The technical team is very pleased with the balance in the squad, and the fact that we have five or six versatile players makes the squad stronger.  We felt it necessary to limit the number of overage players, just so that we could make provision for another u23 player,” said Da Gama.

The South African Football Association has called on South Africans to support the team.

The side is in Group A alongside hosts Brazil, Iraq and Denmark.

South Africa last participated in the Olympic Games in the year 2000 under the leadership of Ephraim Mashaba, who is currently the Bafana Bafana head coach.

The SA u23 squad to Rio Olympic Games:


1. Jody FEBRUARY                                        Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

2. Itumeleng KHUNE                                      Kaizer Chiefs  FC  (SA)


3. Kwandakwensizwa  MNGONYAMA          Maritzburg United FC (SA)

4.Rivaldo COETZEE                                       Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

5. Abbubaker MOBARA                                 Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

6. Mothobi MVALA                                        Highlands Park FC (SA)

7. Erick MATHOHO                                       Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

8.Tebogo MOERANE                                     Bidvest Wits FC (SA)

9. Tercious MALEPE                                      Orlando Pirates FC (SA)


10. Gift MOTUPA                                            Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

11. Maphosa MODIBA                                     Mpumalanga Black Aces FC (SA)

12. Deolin MEKOA                                          Maritzburg United FC (SA)

13. Keagan DOLLY                                           Mamelodi Sundowns  (SA)

14. Phumlani NTSHANGASE                          Bidvest Wits FC (SA)


15. Menzi MASUKU                                         Chippa United FC (SA)

16. Tashreeq MORRIS                                       Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)

17. Lebogang MOTHIBA                                   Lille F.C  (France)

18. Tyroane SANDOWS                                     Gremio FC (Brazil)

Additional Players:

1. Nkosingiphile GUMEDE                                 Golden Arrows FC (SA)

2. Andile FIKIZOLO                                            Golden Arrows FC(SA)

3. Thapelo MORENA                                           Bloemfontein Celtics FC (SA)

4. Thabiso KUTUMELA                                      Orlando Pirates FC (SA). – CAJ News



You can be the first one to leave a comment.


Leave a Comment